JamesNunya

Highlights of my life. The early years. Part 1

Rate this Entry
Forewarning

I'm not much of a writer, I tend to go off on tangents, and I've never written a blog before. Be kind and be patient please. I'm writing this as a series because I want to tell my story so you all can get to know me and because, well, I want to. I will be writing this as I remember it at the time of writing.

The early years.

The earliest memory I have, that I can actually put a time to, is Thanksgiving of 1985 when I was two years old. I know that because we had a family tradition. Write down our Christmas wish list at Thanksgiving, give it to our parents to "proofread for Santa" and then to, later, mail off to "Santa." I remember writing the list at my grandfather's desk in his living room while my mom and various aunts were setting up Thanksgiving dinner. My dad, grandfather, and various uncles were in the dining room hanging out talking about... whatever. The parents would send us children to the desk to write our list out one at a time and it was finally my turn. Like most kids, I had a wishlist a mile long. Through the fog of time I've forgotten almost everything I wrote on the list. But I do remember one toy. I wanted this remote controlled T-Rex with battle gear. Similar to the Dino-Riders but a little more generic. (I don't remember what they were called.)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iSAU0nYTwug